Sweet Dreams

When I first opened my Etsy shop back in 2008, all I wanted to do was make baby blankets. I’m not exactly sure why I love to make them so much…probably all the different texture and colour combination possibilities. I can go into a yarn shop and make myself crazy coming up with all sorts of ideas for blankets, especially when I see a new yarn.

 

 

One of the first blankets I designed is this Sweet Dreams Baby Blanket. It started out as some scribbles and a few drawings and ended up as my favourite item I’ve ever made. I was actually disappointed when I sold it from my shop because it was just so pretty. So I made another one, and then it sold! At that point I stopped making it because it is a bit time consuming and I had become quite busy with my little shop making newborn hats.

 

Over the years I’ve had numerous requests for the pattern and I’ve finally got around to writing it. You can purchase the pattern in my Etsy shop, on Ravelry, and right here on my blog. Just look over to the right and scroll down, you’ll see it. As I said before this blanket is a bit time consuming to make, but it’s a relatively easy pattern.  It requires a size H/5mm crochet hook and worsted weight yarn. I used Bernat Cottontots in Pretty in Pink, Sweet Cream, and Wonder White.

 

The blanket is made up of a series of squares, some basic single crochet, and some granny squares, that are sewn together to make the blanket. The most time consuming part for me was not crocheting the squares, or even sewing them together (I actually single crocheted them together), it was weaving in all the ends. So to save yourself a bunch of time, try to crochet over the ends when you change colours on the granny squares. I hope you enjoy this pattern as much as I do :)

 

About Lisa

I am a self employed mother of two and I love that I have turned my lifelong hobby of knitting into a business. I secretly wish to be a photographer, okay maybe not so secretly...
This entry was posted in Bubblegirl Knit and Crochet, Etsy, Patterns and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

