My first knit along

If you haven’t heard of a knit along,  it’s where a group of knitters get together and follow the same pattern.  Lion Brand is hosting a knit along this March by posting instructions on their blog each Thursday. We are making a Simple Cardi and the blog posts are showing us how to customize the simple sweater in different ways. You don’t have to veer from the original pattern if you don’t want to, but it’s fun to see what everyone has done to make the cardi their own. A Raverly group was also created where members can ask questions and post photos of their progress.

 

March 2nd: I’ve got my yarn and needles and I’m all ready to go! I used Vanna’s Choice yarn in Dusty Purple. I really like this colour. You can see the pattern and what the finished cardi is supposed to look like.

 

 

 

 

March 5th: Almost finished the yoke. This sweater is worked from the top down, all in one piece which means no sewing in sleeves or side seams!!

 

 

 

March 7th: Finished the yoke and ready to move onto the body of the sweater.

 

 

 

 

 

March 8th: To customize the cardi, I added a bamboo eyelet detail.

 

 

 

 

 

March 12th: Finished the body and the hem. I added 4 inches to the length so it sits just at my waist.

 

 

 

 

 

March 14th: And it’s done!!

 

 

 

 

 

It’s been a lot of fun, and I love seeing everyone else’s sweaters.

About Lisa

I am a self employed mother of two and I love that I have turned my lifelong hobby of knitting into a business. I secretly wish to be a photographer, okay maybe not so secretly...
This entry was posted in Patterns, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

