Getting healthy

This has been a year of change in our family. It started with my husband wanting to lose some weight and just get healthy. A few years ago, he was diagnosed with Type 2 diabetes, along with high blood pressure and high cholesterol. There is a history of heart disease in his family and his weight problem combined with all his other health problems and 50th birthday approaching finally motivated him to make a change.

He started eating better, no secret here…whole grains, lots of fruit and veggies and no junk. And also started working out 5 days a week…3 days strength training, 5 days on the treadmill. He began with walking and has now progressed to running. To date, he has lost 77 lbs since January and I’m so proud of him!

We loved how the curried chickpeas turned out...so tasty!

Inspired by my husband’s accomplishments, I decided to join him in his healthy eating. It’s actually been pretty easy…the biggest change has been eliminating processed foods. We really have to read the labels on any packaged foods…not that we eat much of those anymore. I’ve added quinoa to our diet and in my search for recipes, I stumbled upon The Savvy Vegetarian. I’ve found quite a few good recipes there, the first one I tried was their Curried Chickpeas.

Well it must be working, because I’ve lost 29 lbs since March…and I haven’t exercised at all. That changes today…I’ve decided to get off the couch and start moving. I purchased Jillian Michael’s 30 Day Shred dvd months ago and must now dust it off and give it a go.

We’ll see if I survive to post tomorrow…

About Lisa

Nationally accredited nature and botanical photographer with The Professional Photographers of Canada. Lifelong knitter.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.