The makeovers continue…

Well, it’s been 1 month since I made the decision to get more active. I started by doing Jillian Michael’s 30 Day Shred. The first day almost killed me…I was actually shaking after that first workout. I did that dvd 3 times a week for the first week, and then added to that by walking on the treadmill 2 days a week. My weight loss was slow, but I’d already lost 29lbs without exercising, so I figured that maybe I was gaining back some of the muscle mass I had lost.

After week 2, I joined Jillian Michaels.com and discovered that the 30 day shred wasn’t all that bad compared to Jill’s circuit training. OMG, it was brutal for me! I do love the site, though. I can count my calories in and calories out and have been losing 1 lb per week since following her program. I’ve also lost a few more inches around my waist and hips. But most importantly, I am learning alot about health, exercise and nutrition. For the first time in my life, I’m taking a daily vitamin. Listening to Jillian’s podcasts has also been very motivating… and they make the time pass on the treadmill. I’ve also started reading Jill’s latest book, Unlimited. Can you see a pattern here? I must say, I love this woman…she really connects with me in some way. I’m going to miss her this season on The Biggest Loser, but am so looking forward to watching her on The Doctors every day!!

Ugly old apples had to go.

 

The house makeover continues as well. I stripped the old apple wallpaper from the kitchen a couple of weeks ago, and my hubby is cleaning the walls as I type.  He’ll be prepping for paint tomorrow.

The kitchen 'before".

Stage 1 'after" - wallpaper removed, but walls not yet prepped for paint.

And…we finally bought our hardwood floor! It’s solid birch with a walnut stain. We are hoping to install it sometime in September. I can’t say enough about The Hardwood Flooring Store in Markham, Ont. The service there is next to none!!

You can see a bit of the hardwood color here.

 

We also bought a beautful dining table from Ethan Allen. It should arrive in 12 weeks at the latest, just in time for the holiday season.

I can't wait to get this table!!

About Lisa

Nationally accredited nature and botanical photographer with The Professional Photographers of Canada. Lifelong knitter.
This entry was posted in Healthy Living, House reno, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.