The renos are done!!

It’s been a while since I’ve posted. My laptop crashed while we were in the middle of the house renos, so getting a new one had to be put on hold. I just received my new laptop a few days ago and am now the proud owner of my first Mac! It’s going to take this Windows girl a few days to get used to the Apple world, but so far I like it.

The renovations were completed at the beginning of December, and I finally have my dream home…well, the main floor anyway. I’m so proud of my husband for the work he did, it looks so professional.

Let’s start with the basement. I posted  a pic already of the kids playing, but here are the before and afters…

Beginning the basement.

Drywall done, walls painted and ceiling installed.

All done and ready for the kids.

Now on to the powder room. This wasn’t part of the original plan, but once the hall was painted we thought the powder room needed freshening up. We ended up getting a new vanity and toilet and love our new faucet. All were purchased at Lowe’s.

Outdated powder room - before

New and updated - after

The biggest project of the reno was replacing the old carpet with hardwood. It took my husband about a week to do the family room, hallway, living and dining rooms.

Old, well worn carpet being removed. Yay!

Beautiful new hardwood being installed! This was purchased at The Hardwood Flooring Store in Markham, On. It's solid birch with a walnut stain in a wired brushed finish.

Here is the family room before and after…

Family room - before

Here it is after, with the new floors, new area rug from Lowe's, fresh new paint on the walls and a new coffee table from Ikea.

And the living and dining rooms…

Living room - after. The stair railings and handrail were painted to go with the new floor...that was my job. The railing goes up and around the entire second floor...it took me 2 weeks to paint!

Dining room - after. Beautiful new table from Ethan Allen.

Since we were installing the hardwood, we thought we would replace the old cracked ceramic tile at the from entrance as well. We found some inexpensive porcelain tiles at Lowe’s.

Entrance - before

Here's the after! Bench is from the Martha Stewart collection at Home Depot.

And finally…the kitchen! This change is the most dramatic. We replaced our old green counters with new laminate and removed the raised breakfast bar to give us more usable counter space. Then my husband painted the cabinets.

We were originally going to purchase Rustoleum Cabinet Transformations, but the paint expert at Lowe’s showed us what we needed for less money. Because we weren’t going to use the glaze that comes with the kit, it was less expensive to buy the paint, primer and liquid sandpaper separately. The liquid sandpaper was the real time saver. My husband just wiped it on and waited for it to dry and was then able to prime. We used a sprayer for the cabinet doors, which is why I think the finish turned out so smooth. There were a few drawbacks to using a sprayer, however…there was a huge mess and lots of paint was wasted. Almost as much ended up on the floor as on the cabinet doors. We worked in a closed room in the basement, but the paint dust ended up all over the basement.

Oh, and I almost forgot…new appliances!! We got a great deal on our new stainless steel fridge, gas range and dishwasher from Lowe’s.

Kitchen - before

Here's the after! New sink and faucet from Lowe's, bar stools from Kitchen Stuff Plus.

Another before. Look at that fridge, agghhh!

Ahhh, that's better.

I’m so happy with how everything turned out! My hubby says he’s available to work on other homes, but he can’t charge by the hour, lol…this took him almost a year.

About Lisa

Nationally accredited nature and botanical photographer with The Professional Photographers of Canada. Lifelong knitter.
This entry was posted in House reno and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.