First trip to the health food store

In my last post, I mentioned that I had not yet ventured to a health food store and that I found the idea kind of intimidating. Last Sunday, my awesome husband suggested we  check out a couple of the local ones. Well, the store closest to us is closed on Sundays (okay, now I know) so we went a tiny bit further to Feel Good Natural on Brock St. in Whitby.

As my husband and son perused the supplements, I wandered around with my daughter and my list. To my surprise, I kind of felt like I belonged there…like I actually knew what I was looking for. In the post mentioned above, I talked about Holistic Nutritionist Joy McCarthy and how I’m following her advice to improve my health. In addition to all the great information and recipes on her website, Joy posts videos like this one. When Joy uses or likes a product, she holds it up to the camera so you can actually see what it looks like! So when I was in the health food store, I knew exactly what I was looking for. Thank you Joy!!

Let me just say…the stuff in there was not cheap. Because I have virtually none of these foods already, I understand that it’s going to cost a few bucks for me to stock my pantry. That being said, I didn’t get everything I wanted, just a few items I need for recipes I’d like to try.

Here's what I got: maca powder (Actually got this online from the same store), goji berries, coconut oil, coconut sugar, and raw cacao powder.

Like I said before, there are a few recipes I’d like to try with these ingredients, but the first had to be Joy’s Sexy Balls. That’s right, you heard/read me. They are raw cookies made with raw cacao, maca, goji berries and dates. And they are DELICIOUS!!

My after dinner snack the other day. Warm almond milk with a few drops of stevia and the raw maca balls.

They made for a yummy after dinner snack. Now I don’t always have a snack in the evening…only if I am actually hungry. I was really looking forward to having these again last night but I wasn’t hungry, so I saved them for when I would really enjoy and appreciate them. My other yummy snack is hot air popped popcorn with a bit of butter, sea salt and maca powder. The combination of the salt and maca is amazing!

I also used the coconut sugar in place of brown sugar in a marinade. I didn’t notice a different in taste at all. I don’t know if you’d be able to do the swap for baking, though.

I was also happy to see that this store carries Green Beaver products…learned about these from, you guessed it…Joy. Here is Joy’s post about eliminating chemicals from your personal care products.

So after only 3 weeks, what have these changes in my diet done so far??

First of all, my skin has cleared up. I didn’t have massive breakouts, but there were a few little bumps here and there that I’d had for years that are now gone. Also those ugly brown spots you get with aging have faded.

Second, as I posted before, my stuffy nose is almost all gone…unless I eat dairy. So I have to really be committed to eliminating dairy from my diet. Which means no more yogurt. If anyone knows where I can get vegan yogurt in the GTA, please let me know… and there is no way I have the time to make my own. So Delicious has a coconut milk yogurt, but as far as I know it’s not available in Canada 😦

Modelling my new apron. Notice that my rings are in the wrong finger. I've lost so much weight that they keep falling off my ring finger.

Third is my weight…I’ve lost 2 lbs. I know, I know, it’s only 2 lbs but I’m not trying to lose weight, it’s just a side effect. And I’ve already lost 4o lbs so there’s not much left to lose, just the belly fat. Speaking of that, I’m down 2 inches!! Now that’s a big deal. I’m going to tell you something…my waist measurement. It’s not phenomenal, but for a former fat girl I think it’s pretty amazing. My waist now measures 29 inches…yes, I’m in the twenties! My waist hasn’t been this small since I was in my twenties (43 year old lady here). I’m hoping that my waist will continue to shrink down to at least 26 inches, but I can say that I’m pretty pleased right now. Cheers!


About Lisa

Nationally accredited nature and botanical photographer with The Professional Photographers of Canada. Lifelong knitter.
This entry was posted in Healthy Living and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to First trip to the health food store

  1. Hi Bubblegirl! We just wanted to let you know that So Delicious Coconut Milk Yogurt at natural foods stores throughout Canada. If your favorite store doesn’t stock it yet, please ask them to bring it in for you. We can’t wait to hear what you think!

  2. Bubblegirl says:

    That’s wonderful, thank you I will ask my store!!

  3. kidpics655 says:

    Oooooooooooooooooooohhhhhhhhhh Cacao powder is in one of the pictures! Yummy!

Comments are closed.